Our World, this week- 13th Aug xx

I feel like I have barely done anything remotely exciting the last few weeks- Coen was ill for a week with a cold and was ultra moany so I couldn’t really take him anywhere and the weather has been typically British and turned ultra crap! We were enjoying 30 degree heat for a few weeks and now we are experiencing constant bloody rain! 


Our first decent day of weather was Thursday so I was determined to get out the house with the kids! Except, I didn’t know what to do- I didn’t want to go to softplay on the first non-rainy day, I didn’t want to go for walks in the forests or playgrounds as they would be mud pits! So in the end, we decided to brave it and go to Staunton farm- armed with wellies! 


To be honest, it wasn’t too bad and wellies weren’t really needed. We met my friend Lucy and her 2 year old Jacob there and the kids fed the animals, played in the soft play and walked around the gardens. It was so nice to have the lovely weather back!

On Saturday, Mark and I went to the most amazing thing ever- we went to see Alice Underground at The Vaults in London. It was a kind of quirky audience participation live theatre. I’m a bit of an Alice in Wonderland fan so I loved it!


As you walk into the building, the main area was decorated as a forest with a bar called ‘Drink Me’ where you could get Alice in Wonderland themed cocktails and drinks, with lots of tables within the forest and a small booth called ‘Eat me’ where you could get some food. There was also a little upstairs area with some couches and a small area where you can play ‘flamingo croquet’


I won’t spoil the actual performance for anyone who wants to go see it but you get divided into suits and taken on a journey into Wonderland. I went with Mark, my sister and my niece, Mark and my sister were a different suit to me and my niece and they had a completely different experience from us. It was good to meet up at the end and excitedly compare what we had seen and done! I definitely want to go again so I can be a different suit and see another route. 


After the performance we had a cocktail, mine was called ‘Who Stole All the Tarts’ and had jam in it. 

I massively recommend this performance to everyone! I had a fab time, I think it might be one of the funnest things I have ever done! xx


Leave a comment