17 weeks !!

This week, Coen turned 17 weeks and also 4 months. 

Don’t let these cute pictures fool you, this week has probably been my toughest parenting week yet! 

Feeding

I will do this bit first because this is the bit that I have been struggling with and getting a bit emotional about. As you can tell from my previous weeks updates, I didn’t think we had any problems with feeding. We had a (what I thought) was a small issue where he would get distracted whilst feeding and look up a lot but I let him feed as much as he wanted and he never indicated that he wanted more. So I went on my merry way. 

I took him to be weighed yesterday and he has only put in half a pound in a month! He hadn’t lost weight but he has gone slightly down on his graph. The health visitor asked me lots of questions such as does he cry for more food soon after feeding, does he latch on ok, do I use both boobs for each feed. He had been ill during the month which could be the cause for the lack of weight gain and she had to ask another health visitor for advice on what we should do.  I mentioned that I pumped when I had mastitis and that I only got 2ozs but I assumed that was because I was ill! I genuinely didn’t think there was a problem and now I feel like a shitty mother for not realising that there was a problem and that I’m practically starving my baby! 

She said it wasn’t too much of a concern and that it could be down to being ill but they want me to go back in 2 weeks to make sure he is getting on better. I feel so crap about it! 

Napping

This has been a bit shit this week too, in fact it’s been a rubbish week all round!

Maybe I’m being a bit hard on myself, I suppose his napping has had a teeny tiny bit of improvement this week. I haven’t been out much this week because it has been pouring with rain so he hasn’t had many naps ‘on the go’. However, I have managed to successfully put him down for his morning nap where he has been sleeping for about an hour- result! Unfortunately, his afternoon nap has been a different story, he still cries bloody murder when I put him down! Twice this week, he slept for an hour and 45 mins which was amazing but other days he would scream his head off for an hour before sleeping for 45 mins if at all! 

Sometimes I’m sat by his cot, with my arms through the bars patting his stomach while seriously wanting to cry!


Night sleeping

As with everything else this week, his bedtime sleeping has also gone completely downhill! Since he was born he has never once woken up crying at night, he would always make noises wanting to be fed and for the last few months, he has been going 3-4 hours, sometimes longer, between feeds, never less than 3 hours! 

Well, naturally this week, as I’m being punished for something, he has been waking up every 2 hours! And he has been crying! I have been trying not to feed him every time as I really don’t think it’s hunger that’s waking him but he keeps waking up Spencer and it seems that feeding him is the only thing that will make him go back to sleep. I’m seriously scared that I’m damaging his night sleeping by doing this but I really really need some sleep!!


Development 

This is the only part that hasn’t kicked my butt this week!

Coen seems to really like tummy time at the moment and he can lift his top half right up, he can also roll really easily from his front to his back. I was so overjoyed the first time he did it and I managed to capture it all!

He seems to be more interested in toys this week, his fisher price fox is definitely his favourite with lots of different textures for him to feel. He is becoming quite good at grabbing things first time (including my hair!)

This week has been such a tough week and it has really made me not enjoy my maternity leave. I’m so exhausted, I just want to cry through tiredness and also having a baby cry in my face for hours when all I’m trying to do is help him sleep! I’m moody and snappy with everyone and I really don’t feel myself. 

After reading another blog, I decided to buy the Wonder Weeks app and it turns out that we are right in the middle of a 5 week fussy period due to a major leap, with this week being particularly ‘stormy’. I’m praying that we will come out of this fine and this fussiness is due to his development and isn’t just the way life is going to be from now on. 

Whatever I did to get punished like this, I promise never to do it again!! 

2 thoughts on “17 weeks !!

  1. So sorry you’re having a rough week! Don’t beat yourself up about the feeding issues, they’ll watch his weight now and you can address the situation as needed. I’m having similar issues with formula and weight gain so I get it to some degree.

    My son starts daycare next week and I’m afraid he’s just going to cry all day because he loves napping on mommy. I had him down the other day in his crib and he started coughing and woke up, wouldn’t go back to sleep.

    I hope next week goes better for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh thanks- I really feel like this week has kicked my arse!
      I feel your pain about napping, it really is hit or miss, some days he will nap fine and others he screams constantly- it’s annoying as he is clearly tired!
      I hope you make the most of your last week of maternity leave, maybe daycare will be able to help getting him to settle xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

