13 weeks old xx

The weeks are going by so quick- I feel like I just finish one of these posts and then start on another one!

So, this week this gorgeous dude turned 13 weeks and also 3 months old! 

I took him to the weighing clinic and he now weighs 13lbs 7oz and is starting to grow out of his 0-3 months clothes. This makes me a little excited because all his cutest clothes seem to be in the 3-6 month range!

Sleeping:

His naps aren’t too bad, although sometimes he has his afternoon nap too early in the afternoon meaning he gets a bit overtired in the late afternoon / early evening. This means sometimes has another afternoon nap, luckily so far this hasn’t affected his bedtime sleep. Today he had an hour nap in the morning and one this afternoon for over three and a half hours! 

His nighttime sleeping is really not consistent, sometimes he will wake after 3 hours, sometimes he sleeps for 8 hours. I really don’t know what I can do about this, so if anyone has any suggestions, I will gladly take them! I’m hoping he will just gradually get into some sort of pattern. 

We still put him to bed at about 7:30 in his own cot in his room and then when he wakes which can be anything from 10pm to 4am, I then feed him and put him back to sleep in the crib in our room so I guess he spends half the night in one bed and half in another. 


Feeding:

His feeding is pretty consistent, he feeds every 3-4 hours. Now he is getting older, he is starting to be a bit more curious and gets distracted when he feeds, i sometimes have to take him upstairs to feed away from everyone else. 

The joys of having a breastfed baby is the explosive nappies! Apparently this happens more with breastfed babies than with formula fed ones. At least every other day we get an explosive nappy which goes up his back, some have gone as far as his shoulder! I have even had to stop him wearing white as he pooes and stains them! Delightful baby! 

2 thoughts on “13 weeks old xx

  1. Have you heard of dream/sleep feeding? This has been a lifesaver for me and my now 3 month old little. If you can catch him in that squirmy, not quite awake stage and get the boob in before he’s fully awake he may go straight back to deep sleep. This technique has successfully aided in a full 9 hrs of sleep for my colicky little.

    Like

    1. Hey- weirdly someone else recommend this to me as well. I’m just so worried that I would wake him up and he won’t go back to sleep!
      They suggested that I try dream feeding him at about 10pm when we go to bed as sometimes we go to bed only to be woken by him about an hour later because he has been asleep since 7:30! However the times I have fed him at 10pm, he still sleeps for different times, sometimes it will be for 4 hours, sometimes as much as 8! There is no consistency! I have even tried giving formula at this 10pm feed as I read that formula keeps them fuller for longer so they sleep longer but again this doesn’t really affect his sleep pattern either!
      I wonder if I get up to him too soon in the night, sometimes he makes noises and then settles back but because he is in our room I just wake up whenever he makes noises!

      Like

Leave a Reply

