Getting Sh*t Done!

As a new parent I have come to realise that lots of sh*t needs to get done just to be able to function properly!

Pre-Spencer I would just casually check my texts, messages and Facebook while I waited for the kettle to boil for my cuppa. These days, you would be amazed at how much stuff I can get done in the 4 minutes it takes to sterilise his bottles in the microwave! I can load the dishwasher, put clothes out to dry, get his bottle ready and my cuppa made! 

Pre-Spencer I could go to the gym 4 times a week, now as soon as his eyes close for his 9am nap, I’m dressed, out for a run, back and showered- all before he opens his eyes again!

Pre-Spencer I could leisurely take my time getting dressed and do my make-up- these days, I mostly have to skip the eyeliner as it takes too bloody long to perfect the flick at the end!

Pre-Spencer we would get home from work, have dinner and watch a film- these days, we work, bath the little munchkin, then Mark feeds Spence and put him to bed while I take off my make-up, get in my PJ’s, clear the lounge of toys and nappies and get dinner started!

Pre-Spencer we would have dinner, watch a film, have a cuppa, maybe desert and then off to bed- leaving all those plates, bowls, glasses and cups in the lounge to be cleared up the next morning when we could be bothered and weren’t too tired. These days, before we go to bed, we have to clear the dishes away, load the dishwasher, tidy the living room and make up a bottle. Because if we don’t do it before going to bed in our tired, weary state, there is no way its getting done the next morning- that time is already used up for feeding, nappy changing and entertaining a chirpy baby- all while trying to squeeze in a cuppa and some cereal xx

Leave a Reply

